Native American Tribes Nations and Confederacies: Shoshone

The Shoshone, or Shoshoni, are a Native American tribe in the United States with three large divisions: The Northern Shoshone, The Western Shoshone, and the Eastern Shoshone.

They traditionally spoke the Shoshoni language, a part of the Numic branch of the large Uto-Aztecan language family. The Shoshone were sometimes called the Snake Indians by early European settlers.

The Shoshone reside in Idaho, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, Montana and Texas.

Proudly brought to you